Written by a solid prophecy buff – this is just so true for today’s culture I felt it worth sharing with you here.   If you’ve not yet come across Troy’s material – check it out at: http://troykoehne.com/ and sign up to get his email updates for a small charge.  

Stupid People
By Troy Koehne
©2007

I have come to the conclusion that there are a lot of stupid people in the body of Christ.  Maybe that is too harsh of a word to use.  Perhaps they are just ignorant.  Or they truly don’t have the knowledge to know better.  Hosea tells us that my people are destroyed by a lack of knowledge.  Not only are they destroyed but they are destroying others as well.It’s funny to watch people in hospitals.  They claim to be Christians and I am not here to judge them but they act and do things like the world does.   I can’t tell you how many people I ran into professing to be Christians and have the latest Harry Potter book in their hands.  They can’t wait to get back at it.  One waiting room I passed, it was like a small Harry Potter chat room.  There were questions and answers and more questions and thoughts as to why the author did this or that and so on.

I watched many of these same folks who had loved ones dying not mention one time the love of Jesus or the new body we are going to receive or even that the time is so close at hand that we will be with them soon.I think about my own family.  They stand on the principle that good people will always go to heaven.  They believe that if you are Christian enough you will be okay to do whatever you want as long as you repent of it later.  They think that you become more spiritual when you go to Women of Faith or see Beth Moore live and that makes you better than everyone else. 

My sister even made my mom some prayer beads.  In case you don’t know, the Hindu’s and Catholics use them to pray to their gods and have rituals using them and so on.  praybeads.jpgInstead of giving her a trinket, why not give her the word of God?  Why not do a study on heaven and what it will be like and give that to her?   It’s not just my family that thinks this way, it’s the whole church.  We have tossed out grace thru faith salvation and replaced it with works.  We have to go to a spiritual retreat to get something from God because we don’t get it in our churches.Let me go on record saying this.  Most churches give us a dry, stale piece of bread to eat.  It’s no wonder they, the TV preachers like Benny Hinn, are drawing people in by the millions.  They are not giving you dry bread but tofu disguised as the perfect turkey on thanksgiving.   We take the tofu that doesn’t fill anyone up and give it to the people who need help the most.  Instead of giving them the meat and potatoes of the Gospel, we give them someone else’s junk that won’t do them a bit of good in the long run.  

Now I know that many people out there are sincere in what they do, but the fact still remains, people will go to hell with out Jesus and unless we tell people the truth about it, we stand guilty of not helping them avoid it.So, that brings me back to the whole hospital thing.  How is it that we are so sure that people are saved and going to be with Jesus?  Just because that is the greatest buzz word that flies out of our mouth to make people more comfortable “Knowing that they will be in a better place.”Well, how do you know they will be in a better place?They were such a good person.I hate to break it to you but good people don’t go to heaven.  Only the saved and redeemed are going to heaven.  Having seen my grandmother get weaker and weaker, her breathing become shallower and shallower has got me thinking a lot about heaven.  It makes me sad to think that many people are fooled into believing they are saved when they are not.  They have never believed on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ to be saved.  Oh sure, they have done many great works but they never believed on Jesus.  As already stated, works don’t get you to heaven.I didn’t make the rules so don’t get mad at me.So let me tell you something.  The church is soon to be raptured out of here. 

I believe more now, with all my heart that it will be sooner rather than later.  If you have never believed on Jesus to save you then you are lost and will get left behind.   The time for being nice is over.  You need a Savior.  You need Jesus.  If you are more interested in the work of the Lord instead of the Lord of the work then your priorities are out of whack.   Get right with the Lord of the work before you start the work. Jesus tells us in Revelation 3:20 (KJV) Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. Jesus is still knocking.  How much longer will you wait to open the door?  One day the knocking will stop and you will have missed Jesus while doing your good works for him.Don’t be like the stupid people out there who follow after this and that thinking it’s of God.  Make sure you know where you will be headed for eternity.Where you end up is entirely up to you.

