As I’m a bit housebound still after my surgery Colin, my minister called round yesterday to give me home communion which was really nice and a unique event for me as I normally would attempt to make it to church, and although I did have it provided while in hospital, that was somewhat different and more the usual in a sense. Anyway – one of his readings was John 1:1-12 – very familar verses yet as often happens one statement hit me harder than usual and that was this verse:

John 1:10 He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not.  11 He came unto his own, and his own received him not.

 It just made me think once more about Jesus – who He is and what He did and even now it causes my heart to somersault in awe. I can’t get my head around the mystery of the Incarnation but the Truth of it is immense. He IS the Creator and by Him were all things made and continue to be held together by His Will – another equally awesome concept. But I was saying to Colin that I think very few of us if we’d been born into Israel at that time, would have truly considered that He was God – ultimately I think it’s a concept we just can’t get our finite heads around unless God reveals it to us supernaturally. And that’s precisely what He did with the apostles and disciples – most were well schooled Jews who would have known enough of their Torah to not be led astray by someone claiming to be God if they hadn’t had it revealed to them that He actually was!! I fully understand the whole need for Him to enter our world in the way He did but it’s the concept of God becoming one of His creation that somehow seems madness – yet how else could He satisfy His own wrath against sin if not to provide His own sinless sacrifice to lay that burden onto?

Mary & JesusThere’s a song by the name of “Mary Did you know?” that really does hit all the WOW buttons in a sense, and never ceases to have me in tears as I contemplate the words. I have to assume she equally had to have some idea of the hugeness of her own burden in His life, but yet sometimes some of what we read about her reactions makes me wonder if she was equally struggling to consider the reality of Who He really was.

Click on the Video to hear the song and watch the inspirational video with it.

Mary, did you know that your baby boy
Would someday walk on water?
Mary, did you know that your baby boy
Would save our sons and daughters?
Did you know, that your baby boy
Has come to make you new?
This child that you delivered, will soon deliver you

Mary, did you know that your baby boy
Will give sight to a blind man?
Mary, did you know that your baby boy
Will calm a storm with His hand?
Did you know that your baby boy
Has walked where angels trod?
When you’ve kissed your little baby
Then you’ve kissed the face of God

The blind will see, the deaf will hear
The dead will live again
The lame will leap, the dumb will speak
The praises of the Lamb

Mary, did you know that your baby boy
Is Lord of all creation?
Mary, did you know that your baby boy
Will one day rule the nations?
Did you know that your baby boy
Was heaven’s perfect Lamb?
This sleepy child your holding
Is the great I AM.

If you know of any equally awe-inspiring songs similar to this for Christmas or Easter please let me know. I know Don Francisco writes some similarly challenging ones, but would love to find a few other good ones – and I mean good – not “worldly” Christian singers/songwriters who just want to sing about feel good factors or their own perspective – but enough on that topic or this entry will be 10 pages long – enough to put even me off re-reading it!! angel_not1.gif

