Having previously watched Bruce Marchiano’s Matthew film, it’s wonderful to hear that he’s now involved in the production of John as well as possibly once again going to be playing the role of Jesus (Yeshua). Unlike so many other Jesus productions floating around, the Matthew series was produced entirely by prayer, and with the scriptures themselves as the script. A truly challenging task, but the cast more than filled their roles superbly. Many lives on the set were changed by the making of the film, and countless more from watching it. Yet for whatever reason, it’s rarely mentioned in reviews of ‘Jesus’ films which I think is just utterly tragic. It is one of THE most awesome films around and for me, continues to provoke huge emotions every time I watch it, purely because it is scripture in motion – not someone’s interpretation of the Word, but the Word itself in action, and that makes it way more exciting. So I’m really looking forward to this new one, although I’m saddened they’re once again going to use the NIV – I was never a specific bible fan until last year, when I suddenly realised that my own Living Bible had totally changed verses when compared to the KJV. Was a time when I truly hated the latter because of its oldy-worldly English which I feel is invalid for modern times, BUT at least the Truth has been held to throughout unlike the NIV. When you compare the two versions, it’s actually quite scary how key verses or just vital words, have been removed in the latter which ultimately provide either a watered down or completely different meaning. And if you’ve equally never considered your bible version whatever it is might not be telling you the Truth, the whole Truth, and nothing but the Truth, then check this out…. 

http://www.hissheep.org/kjv/a_comparison_of_the_kjv_niv.html

– not the one I was really thinking of when I started writing this, but perhaps even better in the way it shows very clear comparisons between the two versions.

But I digress. The important thing is that verbatim scripture is being preached in a more vivid manner than normally available and what God said is thus so much more important in this context – “So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.” Isaiah 55:11

And so it will be with the John film too – God will use it incredibly regardless of how it might be perceived by others – He’s used and still using heretical films like The Passion and occultic ones like the Da Vinci Code to bring many people to a greater realisation that there is so much more they need to learn and understand before rejecting their only prospect of salvation.

So if you’re interested in keeping tabs on this particular project, or better still – supporting it – head to: Making The Film: THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO JOHN: Remember Hope – Bruce’s own Blog of the making process.

